Inventors of the CCD Image Sensor Awarded Nobel Prize

It was announced today that the co-inventors of the CCD image sensor technology were awarded a share in the 2009 Nobel Prize for Physics. Williard S. Boyle and George E. Smith, of Bell Labratories, U.S.A., are the inventors of the technology that has contributed to so many fields including medicine, research, photography and even the success of on-line social networks by giving us a way to capture images digitally. The announcement, as published on DPreview, includes a photo of the inventors with their early camera.

Posted on Tuesday, October 6, 2009 in News • (0) Comments


Leave a Comment:

Name (required):

Email (required; hidden from view):

URL (your website; optional):

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

◊ Please enter the text you see in the image below (to reduce spam).

left pointing arrow